Tennis | ATP Cup 2021 | Reduced second edition set with Djokovic & Nadal heading up Serbia & Spain

  • Tennis will be returning in the lead up to the Australian Open, with a reduced ATP Cup field
  • Top seeds Serbia will be led by Novak Djokovic and No. 2 seeds Spain by Rafael Nadal
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA – With just one week before the tennis tours resume ahead of the Australian Open, the ATP Cup Groups have been announced.


Buy the latest gear from the top players from the Pro:Direct Tennis Shop and check out their range of Players’ kits.
Click to buy via Britwatch Sports


Twelve countries will do battle in the second edition of the ATP Cup, which will take place in Melbourne the week before the Australian Open. The countries were assigned to four groups in Friday’s draw.

Embed from Getty Images

Top seed Serbia, headlined by world No.1 Novak Djokovic, will lead Group A, which will also consist of Germany and Canada. One year ago, Serbia battled through the field to lift the inaugural ATP Cup trophy in Sydney.


Embed from Getty Images

Second seed Spain, which finished runner-up in 2020, will aim to move through Group B, which includes Greece and host country Australia. World No.2 Rafael Nadal leads the way for his country for the second consecutive year.


Embed from Getty Images

Austria, headed by world No.3 Dominic Thiem, will look to advance through Group C against Italy and France. Fourth seed Russia, headlined by reigning Nitto ATP Finals champion Daniil Medvedev, will try to do the same in Group D, which includes Argentina and Japan.


Shop at Connected Clubs for a vast range in tennis equipment and training aids to help improve your tennis.
Click to buy via Britwatch Sports


The three players are currently in Adelaide where they together with Serena Williams, Simona Halep, Naomi Osaka, Ashleigh Barty and Jannik Sinner will compete in a one-off exhibition. A Day at the Drive t will be held at Memorial Drive Tennis Centre in Adelaide on Friday 29 January, and will feature two sessions with reduced venue capacity in line with State Government requirements to ensure the safety of all patrons.

This year’s ATP CUP is a five-day event that will be played at Melbourne Park alongside two ATP 250 events, the Great Ocean Road Open and the Murray River Open. Following the group stage, the four group winners will advance to the knock-out semi-finals to continue battling for the prestigious title.

Each country will consist of four players, with each tie comprising of two singles matches and one doubles match.

The ATP Cup will take place between the 1-5 February 2021.


Support Britwatch – Sign up to PBLC for free to support ongoing contributions from Britwatch Sports