Konta headlines Zhuhai field to cap landmark season



By Ros Satar

  • The tennis tour closes with the Elite Trophy in Zhuhai
  • WTA Finals alternates Johanna Konta & Carla Suárez Navarro head the field
ZHUHAI, CHINA – The field is now set for the season-ending event in Zhuhai, with Britain’s Johanna Konta leading the field.



Following her time in Singapore as an alternate, having been pipped to the final berth in the WTA Finals, Konta will head up the field at the WTA Elite Trophy in Zhuhai.

At the start of the competition, Konta spoke to members of the press at a round-table and confirmed that she had recovered from an abdominal injury she got in Hong Kong, and despite losing the final berth was prepared to treat this week as a solid training week, as well as being ready to play if required as an alternate. She still had a couple of days to decide if she would go on to Zhuhai, where she will be the highest seed.

Taking place straight after the WTA Finals, the Elite Trophy is a 12-player field that consists of players ranked between No. 9 and No. 20, together with one wildcard. The qualifiers compete in a four-group Round Robin format with the winners of each group advancing to the semi-finals. The six doubles teams are in two groups with the winner of each advancing to the final.

Konta, fellow WTA Finals alternate Carla Suárez Navarro and Petra Kvitova head up the list of players, with the full field and their best results as follows: (Source: WTATennis.com)


Rank (23 Oct) Player 2016 Best Results
10 Johanna Konta WON: Stanford

F: Beijing

SF: Australian Open, Eastbourne

QF: Monterrey, Miami, Montreal, Rio Olympics, Wuhan

12 Carla Suárez Navarro WON: Doha

SF: Linz, Birmingham, Brisbane

QF: Cincinnati, Stuttgart, Australian Open

13 Petra Kvitova WON: Wuhan

F: Luxembourg

SF: New Haven, Rio Olympics, Stuttgart

QF: Beijing, Indian Wells

15 Elina Svitolina WON: Kuala Lumpur

F: New Haven

SF: Moscow, Beijing, Tokyo, Dubai

QF: Rio Olympics

17 Roberta Vinci WON: St. Petersburg

QF: US Open, New Haven, Stuttgart, Doha, Brisbane

18 Timea Bacsinszky WON: Rabat

SF: Gstaad, Miami

QF: Roland Garros, Rome

19 Elena Vesnina F: Charleston

SF: Wimbledon

QF: New Haven, Eastbourne, Strasbourg, Doha

20 Samantha Stosur F: Prague

SF: Roland Garros, Madrid

QF: Washington DC, Strasbourg, Sydney

21 Barbora Strycova F: Birmingham, Dubai

QF: Wuhan, Rome, Prague

23 Kiki Bertens WON: Nurnberg

F: Gstaad

SF: Luzembourg, Roland Garros, Rabat

26 Caroline Garcia WON: Mallorca, Strabourg

SF: Monterrey, Dubai

28 [WC] Zhang Shuai SF: Seoul, Tokyo International

QF: Beijing, Australian Open


The WTA Elite Trophy 2016 takes place between 1-6 November.