Your Guide to the Madrid Tie Break Tens and How to Watch

By Ros Satar

  • In the mass of exhibition formats that come our way, this is perhaps our favourite
  • First edition was held at the Royal Albert Hall in 2015
  • Madrid Edition – biggest field so far
MADRID, SPAIN – This year’s Mutua Madrid Open plays host to Tie Break Tens, the short-tennis format that is rapidly gaining a foothold as one of the better tournaments in a plethora of exhibition style events.



What is Tie Break Tens?

Tie Break Tens is a short tennis format where only tennis tie breaks are played. Those familiar with regular tour doubles are familiar with the match tie break rules, with the first to 10 with a clear two-point advantage is the winner.

Players change ends after six points and the format is played as a round-robin style tournament with an eventual winner being crowned.


How did it start and how to play?

Back in 2015, the inaugural event was plated at the Royal Albert Hall with Kyle Edmund facing Andy Murray in the final, and beating the British No. 1 to take home a $250,000 prize pot!

The next edition saw Murray again in the final in Vienna facing Dominic Thiem in front of a  home crowd, and again he lost out!

Who is playing in Madrid

The third edition is offering a $500,000 pot split equally between the men and the women, and with $100,000 going to charity

Men’s field:

  • Feliciano Lopez
  • Fernando Verdasco
  • Grigor Dimitrov
  • Lucas Pouille
  • Stan Wawrinka
  • Tomas Berdych
  • Jack Sock
  • Dan Evans

Women’s field

  • Garbiñe Muguruza
  • Maria Sharapova
  • Monica Puig
  • Simona Halep
  • Johanna Konta
  • Madison Keys
  • Agnieszka Radwanska
  • Simona Halep
  • Agnieszka Radwanska
  • Svetlana Kuznetsova



  • Madison Keys V. Svetlana Kuznetsova
  • Agnieszka Radwanska V. Garbine Muguruza
  • Johanna Konta V. Simona Halep
  • Monica Puig V. Maria Sharapova


  • Grigor Dimitrov V. Dan Evans
  • Lucas Pouille V. Fernando Verdasco
  • Tomas Berdych V. Jack Sock
  • Stan Wawrinka V. Feliciano Lopez


Order of Play

Order of Play – from 7.30pm CET, 6.30pm UK, 1.30pm EST


Match 1: Madison Keys vs. Svetlana Kuznetsova

Match 2: Grigor Dimitrov vs. Dan Evans

Match 3: Agnieszka Radwanska vs. Garbine Muguruza

Match 4: Lucas Pouille vs. Fernando Verdasco

Match 5: Jo Konta vs. Simona Halep

Match 6: Tomas Berdych vs. Jack Sock

Match 7: Monica Puig vs. Maria Sharapova

Match 8: Stan Wawrinka vs. Feliciano Lopez



Match 9: Women’s semifinal 1

Match 10: Men’s semifinal 1

Match 11: Women’s semifinal 2

Match 12: Men’s semifinal 2



Match 13: Women’s final

Match 14: Men’s final

Where can you watch Tie Break Tens from Madrid?

If you are lucky enough to be in Madrid, at the Caja Mágica, the tournament will start at 7:30pm CET (6:30pm BST) and will be broadcast live in Teledeporte TVE in Spain, and from 6:30pm BST on Dave in the UK.